The first 4 weeks…

This job is taking so much out of me!  I feel like I have no time for anything.  I have lost a bit of weight on those stairs though.  I don’t think I have ever felt so physically tired!  I come home, crash for like two hours and then make dinner and go to bed early.

I do like cooking more often.  I know I’m going to like it.  I know the girls have good left-over for lunch (if there are left-overs).  And I really miss cooking, because I like it.

Wednesday, we took a field trip out of town.  It was interesting.  The trip was beautiful.  The scenery made me so happy.  The place itself was not so impressive.  We were told we could ride horses.  We have never ridden horses, so I was looking forward to that.  But you could see their ribs and their hip bones.  It was so sad, Raine wanted to cry.  I had an apple in my bag, so I let Raine feed one.  Another came over and got on its front feet and kicked the horse eating the apple.  They were hungry and mean.

We did do some hiking and hanging out with different people.  There were ropes course things that the girls tried too.  They had a restaurant that could seat all 400 students, so that was an experience.  Overall, besides the horses, we really enjoyed ourselves.

However, I have been sick with something all week, and that kind of put a damper on things.  About 4-5 other teachers have been sick too, so it’s not just me.  I took a half day today, and I’m taking off tomorrow.

We are done with our poetry unit.  It ended with students writing their own poetry and then reading it in front of the class and anyone who wanted to come.  I was very impressed with most of them.  This is the first time they have been introduced to Western Poetry.  We did Wordsworth and Whitman, so they got a good taste.

Do you know what I wish?  I wish that my main jobs weren’t drill sergeant and police officer before teacher.  That’s the part I don’t like.  I feel like I yell too much.  And, why are perfect lines so important anyway?

Monday was my first payday, except I didn’t get paid.  The bank messed up my name and called me WOMACK KATHERYN WOMACK.  Then they changed it to WOMACKKATHERYNMICHELE.  Yeah.  So, Financial said the money didn’t deposit –but they didn’t tell me until I checked at 4pm.  They told me I had to go to the bank to get it fixed.  Luckily, it all worked out and I had money by 5:15.

I also need to mention that a good friend of ours, Melissa,  has gone back to her home in Cleveland, Australia.  We have had so many great memories together and we will miss her so much!  I feel like I have been mourning something all month, and this is one more thing.  The good thing is, I got her pots and pans filled with great energy, and I have made some fabulous things with them.  I’d rather have her here, but it kind of makes me feel better, kind of.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. OMG! I can’t tell you how tired I was the first month of my job because I was so active compared to my old job. The tiredness at the end of a shift though felt good. It wasn’t a bad tired and I recovered quicker than I would have if it had been a bad tired from a bad atmosphere. Sorry you feel like a drill sergeant. Hopefully that will settle down once they get to know you and they know you mean business. Change is always emotionally difficult especially when it means separating from good friends. The good thing though is with today’s technology you can still keep in touch though it isn’t the same as you and I know all too well. I’m still amazed how our lives seem to parallel each other. I don’t know about you but even though I’m physically tired at the end of a shift I am much happier with this new job. I hope you are too.<3 Give the girls a hug and kiss from us and have them give you one back from us. Love you. ❤

  2. Ryn Cricket says:

    The problem with the drill Sargent/police thing is that that’s what China wants. We are an International school, but some things are still so very Chinese. Homework is another example. Parents yell at us for not giving their children enough homework especially on weekends and holidays. How f$&@ed up is that?

    I do like it. I really do. And most of all, I work with a lot of great teachers that you can see playing with Rumi and Raine on the field trip. The teachers made sure my girls could come. The teacher insisted I stay home when I’m sick and volunteer to cover my classes. Maybe I’m just feeling old. My knees sound like tissue tearing when I straighten them. I have 9 days to recover. That should help.

Leave a Reply

