The very good, the bad, and the annoying.

First, the good news.  Ladies and gentlemen, it’s not cancer!  Yea!  Jump up and down, happy dance.! I found out today that it’s just a swollen thyroid.

The bad news is, that it cost me A LOT of money.  We are trying to negotiate.  The room cost $300, and I was only in it for about 3 hours.  I left before 11:30 am.  This is our food money for a month.  The thing is, no one gave me any options.  I told people many times that I didn’t want to stay and I couldn’t stay.  In fact, I couldn’t eat the food they gave me, and no one even gave me a pain pill.  At least at home, I could get good food and Motrin.

All the tests and everything together cost almost $1000, and I just keep thinking of the many other things I could have use with that money, or at least have something for the rest of this month.  I never saw my bank account at 0 before.  Oh, and the even worse part is the refund of about $300 coming to me is being held for three days.

001

So, this will be a month of chilling as cheaply as possible.  Watching movies, playing games and hanging out at home.  I don’t think anyone minds.  Our best friends, the Clarks, have gone back to New Zealand for a month, so our social calendar is empty anyway.

Also, let’s try to remember here.  I went to the doctor because I had a horrible bloody nose, losing at least a liter of blood.  Then I continued to cough up blood for several weeks.  All of that is long over, but we never did find out what the problem was.  Once that little tumor was found, everything else was forgotten.

What I also don’t understand is how quick doctors were to assume it’s cancer, and tell me so.  In America, NO ONE would mention the word cancer until they were absolutely sure.  But here they we treating me and talking to me as if they were sure I had it.

I’ll be honest, I didn’t even want to go find out the results.  If it was cancer, I’m tapped out.  There’s nothing I could do about it anyway.  I don’t have the money or the time to take care of it.  And I had asked two people what the diagnosis papers said, and no one could tell me in English.  I was just tired of even thinking about it anymore.  But Rumi said we were in the hospital, we might well, go try to see if someone else can tell us, and we did.

What I really need is a break.  A time-out.  But I don’t see one in the foreseeable future.  But at least I have one less thing to worry about.

 

Leave a Reply

