8 days to Christmas

I know it’s been a long time since I’ve written, and to be honest, I don’t really want to explain why.  I’m just going to look forward and talk about now.

Christmas is coming way too fast, and I am not ready.  My nine year-old daughter asked me for a camera to make movies and bras.  Yes, my nine year-old.  She makes money and can buy whatever toys she wants.  She wants the bras from me, and the camera from Santa Claus, because she knows I don’t have that much money.  I did buy her some clothes, and she’s a woman’s small.  No more children’s section.  I don’t know where she gets her height from, but it wasn’t five foot me.

005

I don’t know if you have seen Rumi’s videos, but she blows me away.  I don’t know how she does it.  She has her own Youube channel and she’s up to 52 subscribers.  I want to get her a good camera, but I don’t know if a camera or an iPad would be better.

At work, I have to work on Christmas Eve and Christmas day.  All the foreign teachers have to work, because this year they are on the weekend, and no one gets those days off.  I didn’t make it on a Tuesday this year.  The girls have an advent calendar and they knew when Dec. 1st was.

We will have our usual Christmas party that will not have any relevance to Christmas or Western Culture.  But after that, we will have a big potluck.  I decided I want to make something very “hometowny,” so I think I’m making chicken paprikas.  I’ve been dying to make it since I had it in Cleveland in May.

My Canadian co-worker Stephen and his brother and dad have opened a pizza place in walking distance to my work.  I may have mentioned this before, but it is so good.  I eat there too much.  We get a great discount too.  Every Sunday a bunch of Students and teachers show up.

This past Sunday, we had to go to a work dinner, but the food sucked, so we left, and went to Stephens place.  While we were there, I ran into some other friends who were having a book club.  Oh yes, I was excited and kind of joined them.  They were trying to decide the next book.  I was in.  Yea!  I can’t tell you how happy I am to be in a book club.

Several months ago, Tigger, Raine’s cat got away.  He was peeing on things and stuff, anyway, so I think he needed to get out.  We’ve seen him around.  He seems happy.  Since then, I found an NGO like the APL, but they only have cats.  We adopted two kittens from them.  One fore Rumi and one for Raine.  It’s funny because the cats have the opposite personality of the girls.  Rumi’s kitten, “Peanut” is crazy, funny and very loving.  Raine’s kitten, “Pookie” is a bit aloof, and not so playful.  She is starting to warm up a bit though.  They love each other though.  I’m glad we got two.

So I think that’s a brief update of the past two months or so.

Leave a Reply

