Boiling over, melting down, and burning out.

I’ve been trying to write this for days, but the temperature going down to 91 with a “real feel” of 111 is seriously getting to me.  We’ve had a relatively good week with two very bright spots.  The first one being invited to go swimming at this gorgeous pool downtown.  It’s the first time we’ve been swimming with our friends the Clarks, and we had fabulous time.  We stayed there for about 5 hours and had a picnic.

The other bright spot was exactly one week later.  I order most of my groceries from a supplier on-line.  They are usually imported and/or organic.  I get these groceries delivered about once a week.  When we went to the cooking class or went strawberry picking it was with them.  Well, they have started a new thing on their website where they spotlight an ex-pat, and they interviewed me yesterday for the second one.  I was quite honored and I will link it when they publish it.

But, here’s the thing, we’ve been watching some T.V. lately.  I figured out (with help) how to turn our T.V.s on, since we have never watched them.  Now we can watch the Olympics, which has been exciting.  Deciding who to cheer for has also been funny.

We’ve also been binge watching Full House.  As we know, Danny’s wife dies and he recruits two guys to help him raise his children.  They also have help from Jesse’s girlfriend and various grandparents.  Then, today, I was talking to one of my Chinese co-workers.  She has a 5 month-old baby boy at home.  “I couldn’t do it if I didn’t have my mother-in-law, sister-in-law, and 2 nannies to help me,”  She said.  I’ve got no one.  Well, I have Jodie, downtown, if I need her, and it works in the schedule.  She always says, “Four kids, six kids, no big deal.”

All I know is, I am wearing out, draining, possibly on the verge of burn-out.  I also have so many pressing things.  I need to get new passports for the girls.  My glasses are older than Rumi and desperately need to be replaced.  I have some projects at work that are looming.  Especially, a special event of a flea market.  I loved the idea and ran with it, but of course my ideas for this “cultural exchange” were not “Chinese enough,” and didn’t have enough activities and games, because we all know Americans just love to play silly games when they are bargain hunting.  Also, I have to plan Raine’s eighth birthday party, and the only place I can find bedding for Rumi is on Amazon, so I need to figure out how to get it sent here.

I need a time-out and I don’t know how to get it.  It’s not that the girls are bad, difficult or anything.  I’m pretty lucky in that department.  Rumi is nine going on fifteen though.  Yesterday she said, “I hate this stupid blanket.  I can’t ever fold it.”  “I hate these snacks!  They never get warm enough.”  “I hate watching the Olympics like this, I wish they spoke English!”  I asked her at dinner if she realized how much she had said the word “hate” that day, and I repeated these things back to her.  It was even more ironic since it was Chinese Valentine’s day.  She was more positive the rest of the day.

Let me tell you something weird that happened.  This apparently famous and handsome actor was supposed to come to the mall for a big event.  The whole place was crazy with security and lighting and all kinds of things going on starting from the morning.  The actor was supposed to arrive at 4, but at 3 the power in the whole mall shut off.  And it wasn’t just the mall, it was the block.  I have never seen the electricity go out ever here, not even during typhoons.  My co-worker Stephen was suspicious that that actor didn’t really want to come, or had to cancel and this is how they handled it.  Anyway, after an hour, no way to shop, nothing to eat, no escalators, elevators etc, and people still didn’t go home.  No A/C, and old men took to just laying on the ground fanning themselves.  I still don’t know why no one went home.  They just wandered around aimlessly.  Have I mentioned my sidewalk rage?  It intensifies by every degree over a hundred.  Sometimes, things just seem so strange to me.

Anyway, I’m tired, I’m blurry, I wish I had a twin I could tag-team with.

 

Leave a Reply

