Inconceivable!

You know that part in The Princess Bride when Fezick keeps saying, “Inconceivable!”  I keep hearing that over and over in my head, in his exact voice.

It started on Monday when The Cavs won.  They started the series down by 3, and won 2 games away –You can’t get more inconceivable than that!  I am exhausted from the sheer excitement and adrenaline high I’ve been on and I’m half way around the world!  I can’t imagine the energy in Cleveland.

And then the house Republicans voted down any and all gun control ideas, because apparently they don’t want to take away the rights of the mentally ill, and the people on the “no fly” list to own automatic assault rifles.   The freedom to own a weapon that can kill 50 people at a time is more important than our freedom to go to school, go to the movies, or go dancing, and not be shot down while doing it.

However, John Lewis and other Representatives held a sit in the spirit of Henry David Thoreau, and the Civil Disobedience way of things, which impressed and surprised me.

And now the UK is leaving the EU.  They’ve always held their distance, but I don’t see how they can thrive. And I just saw that Cameron resigned.  I don’t know if that’s good or bad, but it’s definite.  And the pound is plummeting.  It’s not looking good for anyone from the get-go.

This world is changing so fast.  It’s hard to catch our breaths.  In some ways, it’s exciting and in other ways, change is scary because it’s new.  But there are some changes the NEED to be made.

I was scared coming to China.  The whole first year was a vacation and nightmare rolled into one.  It was extremely stressful.  But a seed becoming a flower goes through stress as it breaks and sprouts up.  Now, 3 years later, I am able to reap the fruit of that stress.

Some things need to change.  It is important to grow and thrive.  I have always tried to be the change I wanted to see in the world.  It’s not easy.  There is resistance.  But it’s usually worth it.  Still I wish things could slow down a bit.  I wish I didn’t have to think about all of these things.  I would love a day to just veg in front of highlights of Cavs games and ride this rush for a while.

The girls and I sat down and had a 1988 double-feature of Dirty Dancing and Say Anything.  They were not impressed.  This is inconceivable to me too.  But you know, The Princess Bride came from that year, and that’s one of their favorites, so there’s hope for them.

Leave a Reply

