A little R&R

I had such a brilliantly wonderful week, I almost want to brag about it. My previous experiences of “vacation,” usually meant visiting people, hostelling, or just staying at home. Shanghai has one 6-star hotel about 10 minutes from my house, and I got an amazing deal to stay there. The feeling and atmosphere of being there was very much like being on a cruise –except, no rocking, HUGE bathrooms, and the most comfortable bed EVER! Oh, and I had to pay for dinner, but absolutely everything else was included. I got the “Spring discovery” package.

So, sadly, I still haven’t left Shanghai, and in fact, I didn’t even leave our district, but since moving here a year ago, I really think this area is so very perfect, there’s no reason to leave.

We stayed at Le Royal Meridian Hotel for three days and two nights. There were huge pools, saunas, whirlpools and steam rooms. Between those, and the HUGE bathtub, we spent A LOT of time in the water.

There were also three play areas for children, miles and miles of walkways through parks, gardens, and forests, and a beach to play in the sand. There was a gym, but I mean really, I was on vacation. There was a spa, but it was more than ten times normal prices and I couldn’t justify it.

The food was out of this world. For China, the prices were high, but completely average for America. I had Indian food the first night, and I liked it so much, I had it again. The breakfast buffet (which came with the package) was so overwhelming, I wasn’t hungry again until dinner. It seemed to never end, and there was nothing left out.
But this is what was wonderful: there was no rush-rush, no working through transportation, no language issues, no “I wish…” It was just the most relaxing 3 days of my life. Never having actually felt that for over 3 years, I have realized that this is necessary. I might make it a monthly ritual.

Tomorrow, we are going to the new Shanghai Natural History Museum. I have heard a million great things about it since it opened last month. Next week we will see The Avengers 2 in 3D at the IMAX. All of these things I wasn’t able to do last year, or any years since I have had children. I am finally beyond just surviving, and it feels so good!

IMG_0137

IMG_0140

IMG_0144

IMG_0147

IMG_0148

IMG_0149

IMG_0131

On the last day, we got tickets for the Sculpture gardens.  Honestly, we all thought it was just going to be gardens, but um, nope, it was not what we expected –it was SO much better!

IMG_0152 IMG_0154 IMG_0164 IMG_0170 IMG_0172 IMG_0175 IMG_0176 IMG_0179

By the end, I had two tired little girls…

Leave a Reply

