And so it goes…

IMG_1958

It’s been a long time since my last update, and I’ve wanted to write one for so long, and there are a lot of reasons, but really, I don’t have free time on my computer. Fall is such a good time here: no rain, mid-seventies to mid-eighties, and lots of things to do. Today, we went to Thames Town again. One of my students gave us a free pass to go swimming at a big gym there. I love Thames Town. This time we made a fabulous find of a huge gorgeous book store. Most of the English books were just $2 or $3. So, yeah, I walked out with a few.

In my search for Downton Abbey on the PBS sites, I couldn’t find it, but I did find Ancestry Roadshow and Finding your Roots with Henry Louis Gates Jr. I just love him! And I got inspired. And a little afraid.

In my down time at work, I decided research the genealogy on my mother’s side. I had always been proud to be the great-granddaughter of immigrants. I had always loved that side of my story. It’s what defines me. But, I had a lot of free time one day and I decided to really check out the other side. Guess what I found out? I am a daughter of the Revolutionary War. All those scholarship opportunities I missed out on! And I have two lines, one was a soldier and one had some high patriotic status because he provided beef and food to the troops. I also had four ancestors who fought on the Union side of the Civil War, and on who fought on the confederate side, but he was a POW. No one owned slaves –thank God. It’s been even more fascinating. Almost everyone on her side came to America in the 1600’s. Research excites me, history excites me, genealogy excites me, it’s been a happy few weeks.

And then, to top it off, I created a new weekly class—yoga. It’s been years since I taught a class, but it was so awesome to get back to. I’ve taught two already and my students have loved it. I did it as an experiment, but they asked for a weekly class. This has been really good for me.

I’ve been trying to get into prime health and good habits because lately I keep getting physically ill, and I haven’t found the culprit. It’s not food, like I previously thought. It is either my thyroid medicine or the air at work. We have an ionizer, because the building is brand new, and there are paint and construction fumes and no windows. Vents just go to the rest of the building so that doesn’t help. I need to go to a doctor to get some blood work. I hate spending the time and money, but if this continues to the end of the month, I will have to suck it up and go.

So, though I am lacking an overall theme, it’s autumn in Shanghai which is just so pleasant. It’s hard not to be happy when it’s 82, sunny, and windy teaching yoga at work, or walking around Thames Town, and smiling is automatic.

IMG_1971

IMG_1979

IMG_1983

Leave a Reply

