We take the good, we take the bad, we take them both, and then you have…

IMG_1573

These past few days have been filled with good news and bad news. I’m still smiling though. I have a lot of faith that things will work out as they should.

First let me count the ways I really love my supervisor here. When I did this big “Job Fair” project, not only did she thank me like crazy, she bought this lovely Death by Chocolate Torte. I did a similar project in my old center for Thanksgiving, and my old supervisor never thanked me, and complained that there were no games or songs –which was pretty idiotic for thanksgiving. I forgot my Ipod charger cord, and my new supervisor gave me one. I was sick a couple of weeks ago and came in 2 hours late, and she didn’t count it against me. My old supervisor charged me 1000 RMB for taking a day off to move.

The biggest thing is, she got insurance for Rumi and Raine. I was told by HR that the company doesn’t cover family. She went straight to the insurance guy and got it done. No problem. Well, except that they won’t cover Rumi’s leg because it’s pre-existing. Anything else though, and they are now covered. Technically, even before the diagnosis, it would have been pre-existing since it’s something you are born with, even if it doesn’t present itself. My supervisor totally went to bat for me on this. But she has found that I can’t get insurance anywhere. Now, I have to figure out what to do for that.

Another bit of bad news that I thought originally was good news, is that my nanny is willing to leave and has asked me to find a replacement. I thought this was a good thing, because I know the perfect nanny, and I’ve been patiently waiting to do the right thing. So I immediately contacted my perfect Mary Poppins, and it turns out there’s a problem with her son. She wants him to go to school here in Shanghai, but because he was not born here there are rules, and he can’t, so they have to move back to her home province. She just found today! I was SOOOO hoping she would start on Wednesday. I can’t tell you how fabulous she is. She said she would help me find someone though. Our housekeeper here in the office has told me repeatedly that she has friends that would love the job, but she’s not the best housekeeper, so I’m not so sure about her friends. Raine was inconsolable when she found out. She really, really liked this substitute nanny.

Our second little weekend trip is coming on Wednesday. I can’t wait. Somehow we’ve gone all summer and have only gone swimming once. This is a huge change from Thailand when we went swimming every single day! We are going to the same hot spring resort. It is by far the biggest bang for the buck. I still can’t get over how a five star resort in my district is less than a 2 star hotel in the states. For the record, it would be three times as much in our old district.

Also, for the past two weeks I’ve been wearing my hair in a ponytail or a clip. Why? BECAUSE I HAVE ENOUGH HAIR! It makes me so happy! It’s been about 3 years.

Leave a Reply

