Our first Month…

It’s been a month already!

30 May 2013 at 02:57

It has been a month.  A very, very crazy month.  We are on to a better schedule now, and hopefully, it might get even better.  I have been informed that I will be moving to a center that is only 8 minutes away.  This hasn’t happened yet, but it seems to be the official word and I am VERY excited about it.  They wanted to put me two hours away.  That has been the plan since before I left the US.  But I didn’t know the area at all, and I used the only address I had to find an apartment.  That address was HQ.  So, we got settled and established, and I realized that would mean 4 hours of travel time, which I absolutely did not want to do.  There are plenty of jobs out there, so I was willing to look for another one, but instead, they have put me in the closest center.  It was a bit of a gamble, but it’s nice when people know your worth.

Since we don’t work a normal M-F schedule, Kristina and I have worked it out so that we both have Tuesdays off and we plan some sort of sight-seeing trip.  Last week we went to People’s Park and Jing-an temple.

This week we went to the Shanghai Zoo.  It was such a great day!.  The weather was perfect, the zoo was beautiful and we got so see some very unique animals.  I got to see a panda which made me very happy.  But the best part was the black and white Colobus.  They were these playful monkeys like we had never seen before. They had mostly black fur with a band of very long white hair around their back.  And their tails were long and black with white fluffy ends.  There was a baby who seem stuck on a log that was way too high for him to get down.  There was a big old one sitting there too –completely ignoring him.  The baby tried to get his attention and his help, but he just kept ignoring him.  Finally the baby cried, and the mother came from nowhere, scooped him up and cuddled him.  But then the mother started cleaning his hair and the baby jumped away to be cuddled by someone else.  It was very interesting to watch the whole transaction.

It was also interesting to see live rats and mice in the snake and crocodile cages.  We didn’t see them get eaten though.  It was such a beautiful zoo, and we probably only saw about ½ of it.  But the animals were so active and so interactive.  One really huge orangutan danced around his room. Some chimpanzees posed for pictures and seemed upset that we moved on.

We did a few more “settling in” things like putting up Raine’s tent.  She took a nap in it, and slept in it all night by herself.  Yesterday Rumi said, “When we first saw this place it was clean and it was plain and I didn’t like it –but now I LOVE it!”  I explained to her what vision and potential mean.  Then we went bungee jumping –again.

I don’t cook nearly as much as I used to or as I wish to, but yesterday I made chicken wings and grilled vegetables like zucchini, peppers and mushrooms which the girls and I ate like fajitas in this really great flat bread we get at the market.  I really should cook more, but this nanny cooks, and there are so many eating out options, but I kind of miss it.  No matter what, we eat really well!

Leave a Reply

